Time management tips for busy moms

Let’s face it moms are busy ladies; there is no way around it. Whether you are a stay-at-home mom or you have a job YOU ARE BUSY! Sometimes moms are so busy they run out of time for themselves or their family and taking time for yourself and your family is important. Being a busy mom myself, I thought I would share a few of my time management tips, so you can find time for what you love and not feel so rushed.

Plan ahead

I am the type of person that likes to have a plan. I feel like I can get more done and things go a lot smoother when I plan ahead. For me, planning ahead consist of:

  • Meal planning

On Thursday I meal plan and make a grocery list for when I do my shopping on Friday. I always make my meal plan around what we have going on during the week. For example, during the summer my son had swimming lessons during the time we normally eat dinner, so before we would leave I would throw something in the crock pot and dinner would be ready when we got home.

Meal planning can also cut down the amount of money you spend each month on food.

  • Outfits

The night before I always pick out both of my son’s clothes and my clothes. Things go a lot smoother in the morning when everyone knows what they are wearing and we don’t have to dig for clothes.

  • Lunches

A good majority of the time everyone has leftovers in their lunchboxes for the next day, but I always like to have everything put together, so it can just be grabbed out of the refrigerator in the morning.

  • Diaper bag and backpack

Each night I repack the diaper bag, so I am not scrambling to remember everything if we happen to be in a rush. I also make sure my oldest son has everything in his backpack that he needs to take to school.

Cleaning schedule

I find it helpful to have a cleaning schedule for the week, so I am not trying to do everything on the weekend. This allows me to have a clean house and on the weekends I don’t have to worry about what chores need to be done.

Monday

  • Dishes
  • Laundry (if needed)
  • Wipe down kitchen counters and table
  • Sweep

Tuesday

  • Dishes
  • Laundry (if needed)
  • Wipe down kitchen counters and table
  • Vacuum

Wednesday

  • Dishes
  • Laundry (if needed)
  • Wipe down kitchen counters and table
  • Dust

Thursday

  • Dishes
  • Laundry (if needed)
  • Wipe down kitchen counters and table
  • Bathrooms

Friday

  • Dishes
  • Laundry (if needed)
  • Wipe down kitchen counters and table
  • Change sheets

Saturday & Sunday

  • Dishes
  • Laundry (if needed)
  • Wipe down kitchen counters and table
  • Odds and ends or outside chores

I find it helpful if I do laundry and keep up with the dishes and keeping the kitchen clean throughout the week.

Keep track of time

I feel like this is the most important thing when you are trying to accomplish multiple things in one day or even get somewhere on time. After children I started to discover that it is difficult to get anywhere on time, so I make sure I give myself an extra ten minutes. I think it is helpful to plan my day and stick to it, so I know exactly when I am doing things and approximately how long I have to do a task or an errand. Even if we have nothing to do I still find it helpful to have a routine, so I get some quiet time or time to work on my blog when my youngest son is napping.

Hopefully this tips help! Feel free to leave your time management tips below.

Leave a comment